To Cram Or Not To Cram

I do believe that the exam period is one of the biggest stressors in everyday life. Whoever invented the blasted things was clearly a psychopathic nutter that enjoyed making young people suffer. And as if the stress of trying to get a good grade isn’t enough, at the ages of 16 and 18 we are told that our results will affect the rest of our lives and whether or not we are perceived as employable! Clearly the idea of a madman. However we soldier on and do the best we can with what resources we have.

I don’t know about you but for most of my academic life that has meant waiting until the very last possible moment and then cramming as much information into my brain as is humanly possible. Until my first year of A Levels this seemed to work reasonably well and I achieved average grades whilst avoiding undue amounts of stress. HOWEVER, this failed miserably when I came to sit my AS exams. I learnt a very valuable lesson that year which involved me getting rather poor grades and deciding to leave sixth form with my tail between my legs. I did not give up though. After completing a coursework based course at a college in London for a year I have now returned to face the dreaded A Levels. I have picked myself up, trained myself up and I believe that this year I can slay the examination beast once and for all. I have learnt that cramming the night before will never get me the grade I want and that organisation and lots of revision will hopefully see me smiling a toothy grin on results day rather than crying into a cocktail of unpronounceable alcoholic spirits.

This, my friends, is my advice to you; firstly, never give up if at first you don’t succeed (there are ways of getting what you want even if you take a year out to compose yourself) and secondly, I know I sound like a grandma, but organisation, early preparation and lots of revision will most certainly give you the edge over those naive crammers out there. You can do it. Believe in yourself and just do your best. I wish everyone out there doing exams at the moment the best of luck and I hope that even if they don’t go so well you can read this and discover renewed hope in realising that you are not alone!

Peace&Love x

Please Feel Free To Leave a Reply :)

